News&Events



2018 Summer Exhibitions

Kim Rouch and his wild landscapes of the Manche region, Mathilde Loisel and the Legends of Normandy as well as Marc Dupard and his emotion sculpture are on display at the Castle from July 1st Septembre 16, 2018.

KIM ROUCH – Oil paintings 

été 2010 - 063DUNES, WAVES, ESTUARIES, COASTLINES…

… and interpretations of visceral moments and strong emotions, experienced in the very special light of the Manche coast. The landscapes, deceptively quiet, unchanging and fragile, come alive.

Next they rise up in angry, mesmerising currents. They are as if in balance, at this boundary between the land and the sea.

Thanks to his two passions, sailing and travelling, Kim Rouch has transported his art to many countries. Today, he lives in the Southern Manche area and is still as passionate. His travel has become an inner journey towards interpreting the quiet and turmoil of the marram grass, white-crested waves, the purity of our ever changing and moving coastlines.

www.kimrouch.com

Bandeau_K_ROUCH

MATHILDE LOISEL – Engravings

LOISEL_portrait_avec_presse_BDLEGENDS OF NORMANDY

Engraving a curved piece of original material – thus Mathilde Loisel likes to produce a raw, unnuanced image, pushing the limits of the mould in the search for a result with a fine delicacy. The result is characters with exaggerated features, huge eyes, amazing headdresses……..which tell the story of Normandy through its legends and heritage, such as that of the Chateau de Gratot’s Fairy Andaine.

The exhibition has also an underlying theme: “The people here”The artist expressed her vision of a place or a town of the region by creating characters of her own. Always inspired by encounters with “the people here” and Mathilde’s imaginary world, they give out hints of their Manche origins via an attitude, details in clothings or accessories.

Based today at St Jean le Thomas, the area where she grew up, she has a wealth of stories to tell us.

mathildeloisel50.free.fr

Bandeau_M_LOISEL

MARC DUPARD – Sculptures

IMG_2826SCULPTURE OF THE EMOTION

Sculpture of the emotions. Having begun his sculptural life in stone, wood and other materials, Marc Dupard is now passionate about metal and the New Realists. The ‘accumulations’ of Arman, the ‘compressions’ of César – these means of expression call out to him.

Without denying his early work, he now aims for a contemporary approach: extravagance, folding effects, giving the impression that solid objects can be soft, heavy objects light, disrupting the senses.

 

www.marcdupard.com

Bandeau_M_DUPARD

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

2018 SUMMER PROGRAMME AT THE CASTLE: read our article or download the programme (French version only): CHATEAU_DE_GRATOT_PROGRAMME_2018

CASTLE VISIT: every day from 10:00 am to 07:00 pm les jours de 10h à 19h
Including permanent exhibit on the Castle’s history: “Centuries of life”
Entry fees: adult €4, 10- 18 years old €1.50

K. ROUCH, M. LOISEL ET M. DUPARD EXHIBITIONS– during visiting hours and included in the entry fee –  every day from July 1srt  juillet to September 16, 2018

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Actualités&Evénements



Expositions été 2018

Article_FR

Kim Rouch et ses paysages sauvages de la Manche, Mathilde Loisel et les légendes de Normandie ainsi que Marc Dupard et la sculpture émotion  exposent au Château du 1er juillet au 16 septembre 2018.

KIM ROUCH – Huiles sur toiles

été 2010 - 063DUNES, VAGUES, HAVRES, BORDS DE MER…

et la retranscription de moments intenses et émotions fortes dans les lumières si particulières des côtes de la Manche. Les paysages paraissent immobiles et apaisés et pourtant le vent est bien là, palpable.

Ils vivent, faussement indolents, immuables et fragiles. Ou alors, ils éructent en vagues colériques et fascinantes. Ils sont comme en équilibre sur cette frontière entre la terre et l’eau.

Passionné de voile et de voyages, Kim Rouch a fait traverser à sa peinture nombre de terres lointaines. Aujourd’hui, habitant tout autant passionné du sud-Manche, son voyage est plus intérieur pour traduire calme et tourmente en murmures des oyats, vagues d’écume, pureté des espaces mouvants et émouvants de nos côtes.
www.kimrouch.com

Bandeau_K_ROUCH

MATHILDE LOISEL – Gravures

LOISEL_portrait_avec_presse_BDLÉGENDES DE NORMANDIE

La matière, creuser, graver, c’est ce qu’aime Mathilde Loisel pour extraire une image brute et repousser les limites de la matrice par une recherche ornementale fine. Il en ressort des personnages aux visages démesurés, aux grands yeux, aux coiffes merveilleuses, qui racontent la Normandie et ses légendes, dont celle de la Fée Andaine au Château de Gratot.

Autre thème de l’exposition : « Les gens d’ici » avec des personnages qui résument en quelque sorte la vision de l’artiste pour un lieu ou une ville. Ils s’inspirent toujours d’une rencontre réelle avec une personne d’ici, ou d’une évocation imaginaire. En même temps, ils portent en eux, à travers leur attitude, leurs vêtements et accessoires, des indices qui nous permettent de deviner leur appartenance à un lieu spécifique, connu ou méconnu de la Manche.

Aujourd’hui installée à Saint-Jean le Thomas, territoire de son enfance, elle a envie de nous raconter plein d’histoires.

mathildeloisel50.free.fr

Bandeau_M_LOISEL

MARC DUPARD – Sculptures

IMG_2826SCULPTURE ÉMOTION

La Sculpture Émotion. Après avoir débuté sa vie de sculpteur par la pierre, le bois et autres matériaux, Marc Dupard se passionne pour le métal et les nouveaux réalistes. Les accumulations d’Arman, les compressions de César, tous ces univers lui parlent.

Sans renier ses débuts, il se dirige désormais vers une démarche contemporaine : démesure, effets de pliages, donner l’impression que les objets durs peuvent être mous, les objets lourds être légers, bouleverser les sens.

 

www.marcdupard.com

Bandeau_M_DUPARD

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

PROGRAMME DE LA SAISON 2018 : lire l’article ou télécharger CHATEAU_DE_GRATOT_PROGRAMME_2018

VISITE DU CHÂTEAU : Tous les jours de 10h à 19h  – Exposition permanente « Des siècles de vie » incluse
Tarif : adulte 4 €, enfants de 10 à 18 ans 1,50 €

EXPOSITIONS K. ROUCH, M. LOISEL ET M. DUPARD – Aux heures de visite du château, inclus dans le tarif de visite –  tous les jours du 1er  juillet au 16 septembre

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , ,

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *